At least 10 Indian-Americans won state and local elections.

(Lalit K. Jha)

Washington, November 9 (Language) At least 10 Indian-Americans in America have won the local and state level elections held in different parts of the country. Most of these Indians belong to the Democrat Party. This victory reflects the growing dominance of the Indian community in American politics.

Hyderabad-born Ghazala Hashmi has been elected to the Senate of Virginia for the third consecutive time. She was the first Indian-American and Muslim woman to hold a seat in the Senate of Virginia.

At the same time, Suhas Subramaniam has also been re-elected to the Senate of Virginia. He was elected to the House of Delegates twice, in 2019 and 2021. Houston-born Subramaniam was a technology policy advisor in the White House during the previous Obama administration. He is the first Hindu to be elected to the Virginia House.

Business magnate Kannan Srinivasan has been elected to the Virginia House of Delegates from the Loudon County area dominated by Indian-Americans. Srinivasan came to America from India in the 90s. All three winners in Virginia are affiliated with the Democratic Party. At the same time, three Indian-Americans have also won from New Jersey.

Indian-Americans Vin Gopal and Raj Mukherjee have been elected to the state Senate in New Jersey. Both of them are associated with the Bharatvanshi Democratic Party. Apart from these, Balveer Singh has been re-elected to the Burlington County Board of County Commissioners in New Jersey.

At the same time, in Pennsylvania, Neel Mukherjee (Democrat) has won the post of Montgomery County Commissioner, while in Indiana, Indian-American physician Dr. Anita Joshi has won the ‘West District’ seat of Carmel City Council seat.

Arunan Arulampalam, CEO of the non-profit Land Bank, has been elected as mayor of Hartford in Connecticut. Arunan came to America from Zimbabwe. After winning the elections, all 10 Indian-Americans pledged to work for the welfare of the people of their region.

Language Jitendra Parul


Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *