Jaswant Singh wins Indira Marathon, Reenu first in women’s category

Prayagraj, November 19 (Language) Army jawan Jaswant Singh and Kumari Reenu of Haryana secured first place in the women’s category in the 38th All India Indira Marathon organized here on Sunday on the birthday of former Prime Minister late Indira Gandhi.

District Sports Officer Vimla Singh said that in this 42.195 kilometer long marathon, in the men’s category, Jaswant Singh of the Army stood first, Bugatha Sarinu of the Army stood second and Anil Kumar of the Army stood third.

He said that in the women’s category of this marathon, Kumari Reenu of Haryana stood first, Kumari Nutan of Delhi stood second and Kumari Shipra of Prayagraj stood third.

Singh said that this marathon was inaugurated by State Sports Minister Girish Chandra Yadav by showing the green flag in front of Anand Bhawan and it concluded at Madan Mohan Malviya Stadium.

He said that at the closing ceremony, the Minister presented the prize money check to the winners of Indira Marathon in which Rs 2 lakh was given as first prize, Rs 1 lakh as second prize and Rs 75,000 as third prize.

Indira Marathon was started in the year 1985 and the then Prime Minister Rajiv Gandhi distributed awards to the runners. In this marathon, a consolation prize of Rs 10,000 each was given to the runners finishing fourth to 14th.

In the 38th Indira Marathon, 480 runners in the men’s category and 80 in the women’s category from across the country had registered.

Language Rajendra Noman Namita


Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *